A preschooler wants to be a vegetarian. And Simpson quotes!

The Pediatric Insider

© 2015 Roy Benaroch, MD

 

Leslie wanted to know:

 

 Dr. Roy, do you have any advice about a preschooler who wants to be a vegetarian? A few days ago at a family party an older cousin decided to tell my four-year-old aspiring veterinarian, who loves animals so much she sobs if she accidentally steps on an ant, what her hamburger was made out of. She…did not react well to the information, and has since steadfastly refused to eat any type of meat. Thankfully she’s too young to know that veganism is a thing so she’ll still eat dairy products and eggs and such, just not meat, which I’ve always heard is a pretty important part of a growing child’s diet. Is it safe for a kid so young to *never* have meat? Should I get her on some special vitamins or supplements or make sure she eats plenty of certain other foods to make up for it? Or do I just need to put my foot down and insist that she eats whatever I make? All of the advice I’ve found so far basically boils down to that, but it seems like that would be so traumatizing and send her the message that I don’t care about how she feels or what she values. I just want to keep her healthy, physically AND emotionally, but I don’t know what to do!

 

This reminds me of a Simpsons episode…

 

Lisa: “I can’t eat this. I can’t eat a poor little lamb.” [pushes her plate away]

Homer: “Lisa, get a hold of yourself. This is lamb, not a lamb.”

Lisa: “What’s the difference between this lamb and the one that kissed me?”

Bart: “This one spent two hours in the broiler!” [takes a big bite]

 

From a nutritional point of view, meat is a great source of easily-digested protein and bioavailable iron. But, really, very few American kids have a problem with not getting enough protein in their diet. All dairy products are complete proteins, as are eggs and peanut butter and delicious bacon. I mean tofu.

 

Homer: “Lisa, honey, are you saying you’re never going to eat any animal again? What about bacon?”

Lisa: “No.”

Homer: “Ham?”

Lisa: “No.”

Homer: “Pork chops?”

Lisa: “Dad! Those all come from the same animal!”

Homer[chuckling] “Yeah, right, Lisa. A wonderful, magical animal.”

 

Iron, though—iron might be another story. Iron can be found in some vegetables, especially those dark leafy green ones that Lisa loves, and beans and grains. But that kind, called non-heme iron, isn’t easily absorbed. The heme iron found in meat and seafood really does get into your body better. Absorption of non-heme iron can be increased by consuming foods with vitamin C (like citrus fruits), eating your non-heme iron with a little meat (not Lisa’s first choice), or cooking with a cast-iron pot. If none of that is practical, it’s easy enough to get an iron supplement to replace the iron in meat.

 

Lisa: “Uh, excuse me? Isn’t there anything here that doesn’t have meat in it?”

Lunchlady Doris: “Possibly the meat loaf.”

Lisa: “Well, I believe you’re required to provide a vegetarian alternative.”

[Doris picks up a hot dog, shakes the wiener out, and slaps the bun down on Lisa’s tray]

Doris: “Yum. It’s rich in bunly goodness.”

Lisa[dryly] “Do you remember when you lost your passion for this work?”

 

I’m assuming, here, that the child is willing to continue eating dairy products—without those, it’s difficult to get enough calcium and vitamin D. I think a family can easily follow a lacto-ovo vegetarian diet (including dairy and eggs) without much worry, and in fact such a diet is almost certainly more healthful than that of many families. But strict veganism, with no eggs and no dairy, is tricky, especially with younger children. I suggest any family who’s raising vegan kids spend some face-to-face time with a registered dietician (NOT a “nutritionist”! Don’t get me started on nutritionists.) That way they can learn what they need to know to ensure an adequate diet and correct use of supplements. It can be done, but it requires some work and planning.

 

Paul McCartney: “Linda and I both feel strongly about animal rights. In fact, if you play ‘Maybe I’m Amazed’ backwards, you’ll hear a recipe for a really ripping lentil soup.”

Lisa: “When will all those fools learn that you can be perfectly healthy simply eating vegetables, fruits, grains and cheese?”

Apu: “Oh, cheese!”

Lisa: “You don’t eat cheese, Apu?”

Apu: “No, I don’t eat any food that comes from an animal.”

Lisa: “Oh, then you must think I’m a monster!”

Apu: “Yes, indeed, I do think that.”

 

Leslie asked if she should just put her foot down, to force her daughter to eat meat. I don’t think that’s the way to go. I can respect her daughter’s wish to not harm animals, and she can have a perfectly healthful diet that fits her own moral philosophy. Yes, even four year olds can and should have a sense of right and wrong, and I’m not so sure we meat eaters are in fact morally superior to a vegetarian preschooler. Or Lisa Simpson.

Explore posts in the same categories: Nutrition

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “A preschooler wants to be a vegetarian. And Simpson quotes!”

  1. Gem Says:

    I grew up ovo-lacto vegetarian as did my husband and his siblings (as did our parents and their siblings). Even for an ovo-lacto vegetarian it might not hurt to see a dietitian if you’re unfamiliar with cooking vegetarian. I’ve talked to many people who claim to have once been vegetarian and then stopped due to health reasons. Upon careful probing it’s usually because they substituted meat with highly processed junk foods.

    Lot of Indian and Asian meals can easily be made vegetarian and are very healthy (at least if make from scratch). http://www.cookstr.com/ has some very nice recipes (you can limit the dietary requirement to vegetarian). One of my favorites is “Slow-Cooked Creamy Black Lentils with Whole Spices”. It looks intimidating but isn’t that hard once you’ve made it a couple of times. If you don’t have time for dried beans, substitute a couple cans of chickpeas instead.

    Like

  2. veggiesinmyfreezer Says:

    I am a long time reader, but I have to respectfully disagree with this piece. I am also a long time plant-based eater (read as basically vegan, but for health reasons, though I have come to care about the animal rights and environmental issues as well) and was throughout my pregnancy and my daughter’s whole life. Our pediatrician, whose husband is also plant-based for health reasons, is extremely supportive. My daughter’s iron has always been right on target and she is perfectly healthy and growing. It is not hard to feed kids a healthy vegetarian diet. If you are worried about missing out on nutrients, read some good vegetarian family cook books, such as Dreena Burton’s books, or check out the website and recipes of health-based vegetarian doctors like Dr. McDougall. I hazard to guess that my 2 year old eats more vegetables, and a bigger variety, than many adults because we treat that as normal. Kids love tons of healthy vegetarian foods like hummus, nuts and nut butters, tofu (yes really – try it, and learn how to cook it right, before you knock it), fruits, veggies, beans. It truly is not hard to feed her a healthy plant based diet and does not take a lot of effort or planning. (Caveats – per your doctor’s advice, you probably will want to supplement with B12, which is harder for vegetarians to get, and D, which many people think Americans don’t get enough of. My daughter gets a regular kids multi with fluoride.)

    Like


Leave a Reply

