Podcast!

It’s a new frontier for the blog: a podcast! I recently recorded an interview as a guest with Dr. Rich Sagall, the editor of Pediatrics for Parents. I’ve been a regular contributor to this journal for a few years. It’s a well-researched and reliable publication about children’s health issues for parents. In the podcast, we discuss things about patients that have caused us grief as doctors, along with tips and tricks about how to get the most out of doctor visits. The material is similar to some of the secrets covered in my first book. Check it out!

To listen to the podcast, go to this page and click on episode 58. You may see other podcasts that interest you further down on the page. There are a few others that feature me on a variety of topics. If you’d like, you can also reach this podcast or subscribe to the series via iTunes. Search for “Pediatrics for Parents.”

Let me know if you like the podcast format. They’re pretty simple to set up, and though I don’t have a jingle yet I could whip one up and start recording my voice more regularly if there’s interest. I promise I won’t sing!

Explore posts in the same categories: Pediatric Insider information

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Podcast!”

  1. Allison Says:

    I listened to your podcast #58 (cool idea, by the way) and wanted to comment on something y’all mentioned a few times. That is, how much time each patient is allotted by the office. As you know, we’re one of your patients. And I’ve got to say, I really have no idea how much time is “allotted” per visit. Because you certainly are not one of those doctors that try to rush in and rush out — you don’t press the parents to finish up with whatever they want to ask or talk about (and I thank you for that! It’s one of the refreshing things that makes you such a great doctor — your accessibility). But, if you do have standard amounts of time that you have slotted for each appointment, you might want to somehow convey that to your patients. Otherwise, we might unknowingly, to your detriment, and unnecessarily, talk your ear off.

    Like

  2. Dr. Roy Says:

    Allison, I hear ya….but I don’t like the idea of telling parents they’ve got xx minutes. Some encounters take longer than others, and I don’t think parents should have to judge how much time they’ll need. Sometimes, the doc does more talking than the parent!

    Thanks for your kind comments!

    Like


Leave a Reply

